- Joined
- Mar 12, 2020
- Messages
- 282
- Reaction score
- 16
Nameshift has announced a mobile app that allows domain sellers to receive push notifications when offers arrive and negotiate directly from their phones.
The announcement, posted by Jacqueline (of Nameshift.com) on Acorn Domains (our sister forum dedicated to the UK domain space specifically), says users can make counteroffers, accept offers and close deals through the app. Nameshift directs users to its website to download it.
The release focuses on the time between a buyer submitting an offer and the seller noticing it. In its accompanying LinkedIn announcement, Nameshift presents push notifications as a way to keep negotiations moving without repeatedly checking an email inbox.
Sources:
What has been announced
The company identifies three main capabilities:
The public announcement does not specify minimum operating-system requirements or identify Apple App Store or Google Play listings. Its stated distribution route is directly through the Nameshift website. It also does not explain whether the app is a native application or an installable web app.
A further update after the marketplace redesign
The mobile announcement follows a broader platform update published on 13 August 2026. In that update, Nameshift outlined a redesigned website, changes to its commission structure and additions to its team.
The company also said it was expanding internationally and would exhibit at NamesCon. These developments place the app within a wider programme of changes to the marketplace’s selling tools and industry presence. Source: [Nameshift’s August update](https://nameshift.com/en-gb/news/nameshift-is-growing).
Based in Rijswijk, the Netherlands, Nameshift operates a marketplace for buying, selling and auctioning domain names. Its website currently advertises more than 1.5 million domains available through the platform. That figure describes advertised inventory, rather than completed sales.
Sources:
Commission rates and conditions
For sellers evaluating the platform alongside the mobile release, Nameshift’s homepage specifies a fixed 6.5% commission for .com, .net, .org and .info domains.
Source: Nameshift homepage - https://nameshift.com/en-gb
Its published ccTLD commission schedule is based on monthly sales volume:
The company says the monthly tiers reset at the start of each month. Its commission page also lists a 13% rate for domains that do not use Nameshift’s nameservers and sales landers, a condition sellers should consider when comparing the advertised rates.
Source: Nameshift’s commission schedule - https://nameshift.com/en-gb/commission
Recent reported sales span European extensions
Nameshift’s own sales reports provide some context for the marketplace behind the app.
For 31 August–6 September 2026, the company reported 25 domain sales. Examples included TheLab.eu at €3,000, Pixia.eu at €1,995 and Holzer.ch at €1,699.
Its preceding weekly report, covering 24–30 August, also listed 25 sales, including Anco.co.uk at €1,400. These are company-reported transactions, rather than independently audited sales figures.
Source: Nameshift’s weekly sales updates - https://nl.linkedin.com/company/nameshift
Accepting an offer and completing a transfer
Although the announcement describes closing deals from a phone, agreeing a sale still needs to be followed by payment and the domain transfer.
Nameshift’s published buying process says it holds the buyer’s funds until the domain has been transferred and the buyer has control. Its transfer guidance also notes that completion times depend on how quickly the seller responds to instructions.
Source: Nameshift’s transaction guidance - https://nameshift.com/en-gb/contact
The announced mobile functionality gives sellers another way to receive and handle offers within that process.
The announcement, posted by Jacqueline (of Nameshift.com) on Acorn Domains (our sister forum dedicated to the UK domain space specifically), says users can make counteroffers, accept offers and close deals through the app. Nameshift directs users to its website to download it.
The release focuses on the time between a buyer submitting an offer and the seller noticing it. In its accompanying LinkedIn announcement, Nameshift presents push notifications as a way to keep negotiations moving without repeatedly checking an email inbox.
Sources:
- Acorn Domains announcement - https://www.acorndomains.co.uk/threads/🚀-nameshift-com-is-now-on-your-phone.193342/
- Nameshift’s LinkedIn updates - https://nl.linkedin.com/company/nameshift
What has been announced
The company identifies three main capabilities:
- Push notifications when a new domain offer arrives.
- Direct negotiations from a mobile phone.
- The ability to counter, accept and close deals while away from a computer.
The public announcement does not specify minimum operating-system requirements or identify Apple App Store or Google Play listings. Its stated distribution route is directly through the Nameshift website. It also does not explain whether the app is a native application or an installable web app.
A further update after the marketplace redesign
The mobile announcement follows a broader platform update published on 13 August 2026. In that update, Nameshift outlined a redesigned website, changes to its commission structure and additions to its team.
The company also said it was expanding internationally and would exhibit at NamesCon. These developments place the app within a wider programme of changes to the marketplace’s selling tools and industry presence. Source: [Nameshift’s August update](https://nameshift.com/en-gb/news/nameshift-is-growing).
Based in Rijswijk, the Netherlands, Nameshift operates a marketplace for buying, selling and auctioning domain names. Its website currently advertises more than 1.5 million domains available through the platform. That figure describes advertised inventory, rather than completed sales.
Sources:
- company details - https://nameshift.com/en-gb/contact
- domain database - https://nameshift.com/en-gb/domains
Commission rates and conditions
For sellers evaluating the platform alongside the mobile release, Nameshift’s homepage specifies a fixed 6.5% commission for .com, .net, .org and .info domains.
Source: Nameshift homepage - https://nameshift.com/en-gb
Its published ccTLD commission schedule is based on monthly sales volume:
- Sales 1–3: 10%.
- Sales 4–5: 8%.
- Sales 6–9: 7%.
- Sales 10 and above: 5.5%.
The company says the monthly tiers reset at the start of each month. Its commission page also lists a 13% rate for domains that do not use Nameshift’s nameservers and sales landers, a condition sellers should consider when comparing the advertised rates.
Source: Nameshift’s commission schedule - https://nameshift.com/en-gb/commission
Recent reported sales span European extensions
Nameshift’s own sales reports provide some context for the marketplace behind the app.
For 31 August–6 September 2026, the company reported 25 domain sales. Examples included TheLab.eu at €3,000, Pixia.eu at €1,995 and Holzer.ch at €1,699.
Its preceding weekly report, covering 24–30 August, also listed 25 sales, including Anco.co.uk at €1,400. These are company-reported transactions, rather than independently audited sales figures.
Source: Nameshift’s weekly sales updates - https://nl.linkedin.com/company/nameshift
Accepting an offer and completing a transfer
Although the announcement describes closing deals from a phone, agreeing a sale still needs to be followed by payment and the domain transfer.
Nameshift’s published buying process says it holds the buyer’s funds until the domain has been transferred and the buyer has control. Its transfer guidance also notes that completion times depend on how quickly the seller responds to instructions.
Source: Nameshift’s transaction guidance - https://nameshift.com/en-gb/contact
The announced mobile functionality gives sellers another way to receive and handle offers within that process.

